Sweet Virginia Breeze

Sunday, August 4th, was such a gorgeous day in Sweet Virginia!  The sky was an amazing shade of blue, the clouds were puffy and white, and the temperature was perfect!  Because the weather was so beautiful, and we took the boys out to enjoy the sights of Richmond.  They absolutely love trains, so we stopped by the Richmond Railroad Museum and it was a big hit!  The sweet gentlemen who worked there told us all sorts of cool facts about the history of Richmond’s stations and train lines.  The boys have already asked to go back, and we will gladly take them.  The Museum is free to visit, and you may donate if you like.  We donated $5 and because of our donation, we took home four awesome prints of old train engines that the boys will be hanging in their new room.

RVATrainMuseum RailroadMuseumSign RailroadMuseumTrainTable TrainMuseumBell RVASignTrainMuseum ChesterSignMuseum

Railroadmuseum1 Railroadmuseum2 Railroadmuseum3

After the train museum, we took a scenic route through Richmond and enjoyed the beautiful architecture.  Our two oldest boys always love looking at the city.  Whenever we pass through downtown, they point out every tall building as we go by and say “Mommy, look at that pretty city!”

RVAAug4

Our next stop was the Science Museum of Virginia and the kids had a great time there, too!  We loved the new Robot exhibit, and I think the kids could have stayed at the bubble blowing exhibit all afternoon.  I had been to the museum a few times before, but going with my kids was amazing!  Watching them learn and discover is pretty awesome, and although they had a ton of fun, I think we had more fun watching it through their eyes.

ScienceMuseumofVA1 ScienceMuseumofVA2 ScienceMuseumofVA3 ScienceMuseumofVA4 ScienceMuseumofVA5

One of my favorite shots was in the Robot Exhibit Hall.  My oldest and I were walking together, and I noticed our shadows on the wall.  Phone in hand, I pulled up the camera app quickly and was able to capture this sweet moment:

ShadowScienceMuseum

As if Sunday was not awesome enough, we had a fantastic time celebrating our littlest man’s first birthday on Saturday!  It was a wonderful, fun celebration with our family and friends, and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day!  The weather was AMAZING, the food was delicious, and the family time was priceless.  Happy 1st Birthday to our sweet Baby O!

DSC_6383 DSC_6328 DSC_6393 DSC_6428 DSC_6399 DSC_6382 DSC_6381 DSC_6373

This weekend reminded me of why I love living in the sweet breezes of Virginia.  I’ve always called this beautiful state home, and I am so grateful to live here.  I think there’s beauty in every state in the US, but I have a fondness for the Old Dominion.  We have the best of the best – our beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains; fun, eclectic, evolving cities; rich history; sweet country towns; beautiful lakes and rivers; lovely, sprawling farms; quaint villages and towns along the Chesapeake Bay; some of the most prestigious (and fun!) colleges and universities the country has to offer; the wonderful Bay itself; the Atlantic Ocean; and easy access to amazing cities and attractions all along the East Coast.  For travelers, our very own Richmond International Airport was just rated #2 in the country – go RIC!

It is because of my love for our great state that our Sweet Virginia Breeze candle from our Signature Collection was born.

SVB 1

Our Sweet Virginia Breeze candle marries some of our favorite things about Virginia…the crisp, refreshing, salty air of the Chesapeake Bay, and sweet flowering dogwood fragrances.  Our Sweet Virginia Breeze candle has been described as an “experience” and a “beautiful candle that is perfect for anyone who loves Virginia.”

When I first sat down to design our Signature Collection candles, I knew we had to create a tribute to our sweet home state, and it turned out beautifully!  We’ve received awesome feedback about Sweet Virginia Breeze from our customers, new and future retailers, and new friends who work for Virginia Tourism and Virginia Living.  To see our Sweet Virginia Breeze candle and learn more about our Signature Collection, please Visit the Candle Shop at www.sweetmelissasfragrancefactory.com.

This past weekend was full of family and friends, and was awesome!  What made it even more amazing is the fact that we live in such a beautiful state, and have a pretty incredible backdrop for all of our family events and adventures.

So, here’s to the Blue Ridge Mountains, our lovely Chesapeake Bay, and all of the beautiful land in between!  Cheers, Sweet Virginia!

Click Here to Listen to Sweet Virginia Breeze

Sweet Virginia Breeze
By: Robbin Thompson

Woke up this morning the breeze blowin’ cross my face
And I just had to look up above and thank somebody for this place
Because He must’ve been thinkin’ bout me
When he planted that very first dogwood tree
It’s where I want to be
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Take me out to the country it feels mighty good out there
When I get back to the city of the monuments
It doesn’t matter where I hang my hat it’s home to me
The Blue Ridge Mountains tend to set me free
It’s where I want to be
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Wakes me up in the mornin’
Rocks me to sleep at night
I’ve got a red bird singin’ on my window sill
I know everything will be all right
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Just sittin on my back porch
I’m just watchin’ the sun come up
Sweet sweet Virginia Breeze blowin’ ripples ‘cross my coffee cup
Because he must’ve been thinkin’ bout me when he planted that very first dogwood tree
cause when that breeze comes blowin’ through the trees
you know everything will be alright
Livin’ in a Sweet Virginia Breeze
Sweet Virginia Breeze

**********

If you are new to Sweet Melissa’s Fragrance Factory and are wondering who in the world we are, take a minute to read about us here!

If you are a retail store owner interested in adding our candles to your store’s inventory, please contact us today at melissa@sweetmelissasfragrancefactory.com.  We are advertising in several online and print mediums and will advertise your store for free!  We are excited to announce that we will be featured in Virginia Living Magazine in September and would love to promote your store!

Please also check out our Sweet Sponsor Program!  We provide reciprocal advertising to all of our sweet sponsors for free in appreciation for your support!

**********

To all of our Sweet Fans and Customers, stay up-to-date with the very latest from Sweet Melissa’s, including our sweet family, adventures, and opportunities to earn coupons for candle purchases by visiting us on the following Social Media sites:  Facebook., Twitter, Pinterest, and Instagram!  Thank you so kindly for reading Sweet Words!  We sincerely appreciate the time you spent here!  Have a sweet day!

Leave a Reply

